Historian's Advisory Commission

  • Meets on as needed basis as issues and projects arise.


The board can have 4 to 8 members with one member being a Legislator who is designated by the Chairman of the County Legislature. All other members are appointed by the County Executive and subject to the approval of the County Legislature. Members serve 3-year terms and current members include: 




Term Expires:

  • Paul Benson                                     December 31, 2019
  • Joni Blackman                                  December 31, 2017
  • Traci Langworthy                              December 31, 2017
  • Terry Niebel, Legislator                    December 31, 2019
  • Andrew Nixon                                   December 31, 2018
  • Peter Smith                                       December 31, 2018


Roles and Responsibilities:
The Chautauqua County Historian’s Advisory Commission was established in 1992 to develop policies for the records management program. It provides guidance and support to municipal historians in the County; promotes history-oriented tourism; promotes and encourages the preservation of historical records and artifacts; and acts as a grant writer to provide resources for historical programs and to introduce legislative initiatives to promote community history. The commission was also instrumental in planning Chautauqua County’s Bicentennial Events in 2011.