Long Term Care Council

  • 9 - 11 a.m.
  • 2nd Wednesday of the quarter
  • Location varies with meetings held in Mayville, the north county, and south county.


The council can have 20 to 26 members and it consists of individuals that are community based and residential long term care service providers, county government representatives, and consumers. The County Executive and the NY Connects Coordinator also serve as Ex-Officio members on the council. All members are appointed by the County Executive and members serve a two-year term, except for ex-officios and county government representatives whose terms coincide with their position. Current members include:

Member:                                    Term Expires:

  • Shauna Anderson                 December 31, 2017
  • Melanie Booth                       December 31, 2018
  • Patricia Brinkman                  Co-terminus with position
  • Heather Brown                      December 31, 2017
  • Kimberly Buffone                   December 31, 2018
  • Gregory Carlson                   Co-terminus with position
  • Marie Carrubba                     December 31, 2018
  • Dana Corwin                         Ex-Officio
  • Carmen Hlosta                     Co-terminus with position
  • Vincent Horrigan                   Ex-Officio
  • Karen Lucks                         December 31, 2018
  • Pam Nordine                        December 31, 2018
  • Clark Poppleton                   December 31, 2018
  • Christine Schuyler               Co-terminus with position
  • David Smeltzer                    December 31, 2017
  • Mary Ann Spanos               Co-terminus with position
  • Carrie Spence                     December 31, 2018
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Vacant

Roles and Responsibilities:
The Chautauqua County Long Term Care Council began in 2008. The council is charged with: soliciting input from long term care stakeholders regarding changes in the community environment, legislation, or regulations; identifying gaps in service accessibility and availability; analyzing emerging community needs in the long term care delivery system; reviewing and recommending strategies to address identified needs and barriers; advising Chautauqua County Departments on matters related to Chautauqua County NY Connects and other long term care issues; and advocating for services throughout the county.